SOUTH CAROLINA BEER GIFT GUIDE FOR 2014

Beer Bottle Christmas Lights2

Hey, you. Yes, you. The shopper who wisely waited until the day before Christmas Eve to begin their Yuletide adventure in the great retail wilderness of South Carolina. Well, fear not. You still have time to give your loved ones what they really want.

TICKETS

There are plenty of festivals coming up in 2015. Why not buy a ticket or two to one of them?

World Beer Festival: http://www.etix.com/ticket/online/venueSearch.jsp?venue_id=5739 (January 17 – Columbia)

Barley’s Biggest Little Beerfest: http://barleysgville.com/beerfest/ (January 18 – Greenville)

Brewvival: http://brewvival.com/tickets (February 28 – North Charleston at Coast)

Community Tap Craft Beer Festival: http://www.brownpapertickets.com/event/889097 (April 25 – Greenville)

photo

BREWERIES

If you’ve waited until today to get gifts, then don’t wait any longer. Especially if you’re shopping for a beer lover. South Carolina breweries usually keep pretty good hours. However, with the holidays this week, the hours will be a little more varied. If you want to grab some growlers or gift cards, then there are a few breweries that are open for business today to help you. NOTE: Some times may be subject to change or cancellation. Not all breweries have posted hours this week. Most brewpubs will have hours today. Please check https://beerofsc.com/breweries/ for brewpub listings.

Brewery 85 (Greenville) – Open 12/23 from 4-8PM. http://brewery85.com/

Conquest Brewing (Columbia) – Open 12/23 from 4-9PM. http://conquestbrewing.com/

Coast Brewing (North Charleston) – Open 12/23 from 4-7PM. http://coastbrewing.com/

Frothy Beard Brewing (North Charleston) – Open 12/23 from 4-9PM. http://www.frothybeard.com/

Holy City Brewing (North Charleston) – Open 12/23 from 2-8PM. http://holycitybrewing.com/

New South Brewing (Myrtle Beach) – Open 12/23 from 3:15-6:30PM. http://www.newsouthbrewing.com

Palmetto Brewing (Charleston) – Open 12/23 from 3-7PM. http://www.palmettobrewingco.com

Quest Brewing (Greenville) – Open 12/23 from 2-8PM. http://questbrewing.com/

Revelry Brewing (Charleston) – Open 12/24 from 4-10PM. http://revelrybrewingco.com/

RJ Rockers (Spartanburg) – Open until 12/24 at 12PM. http://www.rjrockers.com

River Rat Brewery (Columbia) – Open 12/23 from 4-8PM and 12/24 from 12-5PM. http://riverratbrewery.com/

Seminar Brewing (Florence) – Open 12/23 from 6:30-9PM. http://www.seminarbrewing.com

Swamp Rabbit Brewery (Travelers Rest) – Open 12/23 from 5-8PM. http://theswamprabbitbrewery.com/

Thomas Creek Brewery (Greenville) – Open 12/23 from 9-6PM. http://thomascreekbeer.com/

Westbrook Brewing (Mount Pleasant) – Open 12/23 from 4-7PM. http://www.westbrookbrewing.com

BOOKS

Reading is fun, especially when it’s about beer. Here are a few suggestions for you to consider.

Charleston Beer by Timmons Pettigrew of CHSBeer.org – http://www.amazon.com/Charleston-Beer-High-Gravity-History-Lowcountry/dp/1609492447

Beer Lover’s the Carolinas by Daniel Hartis of CharlotteBeer.com – http://www.amazon.com/Beer-Lovers-Carolinas-Breweries-Brewpubs/dp/0762779977/

FBBC

RETAIL SHOPS

Some breweries will be closed prior to Christmas, but that doesn’t mean that you’re out of luck. A slew of retail shops will be open to help you put some South Carolina beer under the tree. Here is just a taste.

The Community Tap (Greenville) – http://thecommunitytap.com/

Greenville Beer Exchange (Greenville) – http://greenvillebeerexchange.com/

Charleston Beer Exchange (Charleston) – http://www.charlestonbeerexchange.com/

Craft Conundrum (Charleston) – https://www.facebook.com/craftconundrum

Green’s (Greenville, Columbia, & Myrtle Beach) – http://www.greensbeverages.com/

Total Wine (Charleston, Columbia, and Greenville) – https://www.totalwine.com/

Micky Finn’s (Florence) – http://www.mickyfinns.com/

Grapevine (Fort Mill) – http://www.mygrapevineonline.com/index.html

Morgangelli’s (Columbia) – https://www.facebook.com/pages/Morganellis-Party-Store/190729530968973

Bottles (Mount Pleasant) – http://shopbottles.com/

House of Brews (Mount Pleasant) – http://houseofbrewsmtp.com/

The Barrel (Charleston) – http://thebarrelcharleston.com/

Homegrown Brewhouse (Summerville) – http://www.homegrownbrewhouse.com/

Growler Haus (Anderson & Spartanburg) – http://growlerhaus.com/

What’s on Tap? (Greenville) – http://www.wotsc.com/

The Growler Station (Greenville) – http://growler-station.com/gs002-greenville/

Crafted (Simpsonville) – http://craftedbeer.net/

grain

HOMEBREWING

It’s one thing to drink beer. It’s another thing to make it. Challenge the person you’re getting a gift for to try their hand at making what they enjoy.

The Homebrewer’s Pantry (Conway) http://homebrewerspantry.com/

Grape & Grains (Greenville) – http://www.grapeandgrains.com/

Thomas Creek Brewery (Greenville) – http://thomascreekbeer.com/

Bet – Mar (Columbia) – http://www.liquidhobby.com/

Keg Cowboy (Lexington) – http://www.kegcowboy.com

Holy City Brewing (North Charleston) – http://holycitybrewing.com/

Bottles (Mount Pleasant) – http://shopbottles.com/

Yeast (Mount Pleasant) – http://yeasthomebrew.com/

Beer Engineer Supply (North Charleston) – http://beerengineersupply.com/

From me to you, Have a Merry Christmas, a wonderful holiday season, and a prosperous New Year!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s