SOUTH CAROLINA BEER GIFT GUIDE FOR 2015

Beer Bottle Christmas Lights2

If you’re anything like me, then you probably haven’t done any holiday shopping yet. Hey, there isn’t anything wrong with that. But don’t be stressed. The South Carolina beer scene has got you covered. And even if the holidays have got you down, or if the in-laws have already gotten to you, or if you just need gifts, then there is a brewery, brewpub, or retailer nearby ready to get you through it.

TICKETS

There are plenty of festivals coming up in 2016. Why not buy a ticket or two to one of them?

World Beer Festival: http://www.etix.com/ticket/online/venueSearch.jsp?venue_id=5739 (January 23 – Columbia)

Barley’s Biggest Little Beerfest: http://barleysgville.com/beerfest/ (January 17 – Greenville)

Brewvival: http://brewvival.com/tickets (February 27 – North Charleston at Coast)

Community Tap Craft Beer Festival: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/craft-beer-festival-2016-produced-by-the-community-tap-tickets-19365690301 (April 23 – Greenville)

homebrew 2

BREWERIES & BREWPUBS

If you’ve waited until today to get gifts, then don’t wait any longer. Especially if you’re shopping for a beer lover. South Carolina breweries and brewpubs usually keep pretty good hours. And with so many now open, there are plenty to choose from. However, with the holidays this week, the hours will be a little more varied. If you want to grab some growlers or gift cards, then there are a few breweries that are open for business on December 23rd and December 24th to help you. NOTE: Some times may be subject to change or cancellation. Not all breweries and brewpubs have posted hours this week on social platforms, so we’re just going on what is out there. Please check https://beerofsc.com/breweries/ for breweries and brewpub listings.

Brewery 85 (Greenville) – Open 12/23 from 4-8PM. http://brewery85.com/

Carolina Bauernhaus Ales (Anderson) – Open 12/24 from 4-11PM and 12/25 from 4PM-12AM. https://carolinabauernhaus.com

Ciclops Cyderi & Brewery (Spartanburg) – Open 12/23 from 3-10PM and 12/24 from 3-11. https://www.facebook.com/hubcitytaphouse/

Coast Brewing (North Charleston) – Open 12/23 from 4-7PM. http://coastbrewing.com/

Conquest Brewing (Columbia) – Open 12/23 from 4-9PM and 12/24 from 1-6PM. http://conquestbrewing.com/

Cooper River Brewing (Charleston) – Open 12/23 from 12-5PM. http://cooperriverbrewing.com

Edmund’s Oast (Charleston) – Open on 12/23 from 4:30-10PM.

Freehouse Brewery (North Charleston) – Open 12/23 from 3-8PM. – http://freehousebeer.com

Frothy Beard Brewing (North Charleston) – Open 12/23 from 3-9PM and 12/24 from 12-7PM. http://www.frothybeard.com/

Full Spectrum Brewing (Fort Mill) – Open 12/23 from 4-9PM.  http://www.fullspectrumbrewingco.com

Holy City Brewing (North Charleston) – Open 12/23 from 11-8PM. http://holycitybrewing.com/

Legal Remedy Brewing (Rock Hill) – Open 12/23 from 11:30-11PM.  http://legalremedybrewing.com

New South Brewing (Myrtle Beach) – Open 12/23 from 12-3PM. http://www.newsouthbrewing.com

Oak Road Brewery (Summerville) – Open 12/23 from 3-9PM and 12/24 from  1-4PM. https://www.facebook.com/oakroadbrewery

Palmetto Brewing (Charleston) – Open 12/23 from 3-7PM and 12/24 from 3-7PM. http://www.palmettobrewingco.com

Quest Brewing (Greenville) – Open 12/23 from 4-8PM and 12/24 from 12-5PM. http://questbrewing.com/

Revelry Brewing (Charleston) – Open 12/23 from 4-10PM and 12/24 from 2-6PM. http://revelrybrewingco.com/

River Dog Brewing (Ridgeland) – Open 12/23 from 3-10PM and 12/24 from 12-4PM. http://www.riverdogbrewing.com

River Rat Brewery (Columbia) – Open 12/23 from 4-9PM and 12/24 from 4-7PM. http://riverratbrewery.com/

RJ Rockers (Spartanburg) – Open until 12/34 from 3-8PM. http://www.rjrockers.com

Seminar Brewing (Florence) – Open 12/24 from 6:30-9PM. http://www.seminarbrewing.com

Southern Barrel Brewing (Bluffton) – Open 12/23 from 4-10PM and 12/24 from 12-5PM. http://southernbarrelbrewingco.com

Swamp Cabbage Brewing (Columbia) – Open 12/23 from 5-8PM and 12/24 from 11-4PM. http://swampcabbagebrewing.com

Swamp Rabbit Brewery (Travelers Rest) – Open 12/23 from 5-8PM. http://theswamprabbitbrewery.com/

Thomas Creek Brewery (Greenville) – Open 12/23 from 9-6PM. http://thomascreekbeer.com/

Tradesman Brewing (James Island) – Open 12/23 from 4:30-8PM. http://tradesmanbrewing.com

Upstate Craft Beer Company (Greenville) – Open 12/23 from 10AM-10PM, 12/24 from 10AM-4PM, and 12/25 from 4-until ?. http://www.upstatecraftbeer.com

Westbrook Brewing (Mount Pleasant) – Open 12/23 from 4-7PM. http://www.westbrookbrewing.com

BOOKS

Reading is fun, especially when it’s about beer. Here are a few suggestions for you to consider.

Charleston Beer by Timmons Pettigrew of CHSBeer.org – http://www.amazon.com/Charleston-Beer-High-Gravity-History-Lowcountry/dp/1609492447

Beer Lover’s the Carolinas by Daniel Hartis of CharlotteBeer.com – http://www.amazon.com/Beer-Lovers-Carolinas-Breweries-Brewpubs/dp/0762779977/

FBBC

RETAIL SHOPS

Some breweries will be closed prior to Christmas, but that doesn’t mean that you’re out of luck. A slew of retail shops will be open to help you put some South Carolina beer under the tree. Here is just a taste.

Bottles (Columbia & Mount Pleasant) – http://shopbottles.com/

Charleston Beer Exchange (Charleston) – http://www.charlestonbeerexchange.com/

Craft Conundrum (Charleston) – http://www.craftconundrum.com

Craft & Draft (Columbia) – http://www.craftanddraftbeer.com

Crafted (Simpsonville) – http://craftedbeer.net/

Grapevine (Fort Mill) – http://www.mygrapevineonline.com/index.html

Green’s (Greenville, Columbia, & Myrtle Beach) – http://www.greensbeverages.com/

Greenville Beer Exchange (Greenville) – http://greenvillebeerexchange.com/

Growler Haus (Anderson, Spartanburg, & Fountain Inn) – http://growlerhaus.com/

Homegrown Brewhouse (Summerville) – http://www.homegrownbrewhouse.com/

House of Brews (Mount Pleasant) – http://houseofbrewsmtp.com/

Main Street Bottle Shop (Rock Hill) – http://www.mainstbottle.com/

Micky Finn’s (Florence) – http://www.mickyfinns.com/

Morgangelli’s (Columbia) – https://www.facebook.com/pages/Morganellis-Party-Store/190729530968973

Random Tap (Columbia) – https://www.facebook.com/randomtap/

Southern Brewed (Columbia) – http://www.southernbrewedsc.com

The Barrel (Charleston) – http://thebarrelcharleston.com/

The Community Tap (Greenville) – http://thecommunitytap.com/

Total Wine (Charleston, Columbia, and Greenville) – https://www.totalwine.com/

What’s on Tap? (Greenville) – http://www.wotsc.com/

grain

HOMEBREWING

It’s one thing to drink beer. It’s another thing to make it. Challenge the person you’re getting a gift for to try their hand at making what they enjoy.

ABV (Anderson) – http://www.abvsc.com

Beer Engineer Supply (North Charleston) – http://beerengineersupply.com/

Bet – Mar (Columbia) – http://www.liquidhobby.com/

Grape & Grains (Greenville) – http://www.grapeandgrains.com/

Hopyard Brew Supply (Lexington) – https://www.facebook.com/HopyardBrew/

Keg Cowboy (Lexington) – http://www.kegcowboy.com

The Homebrewer’s Pantry (Conway) http://homebrewerspantry.com/

Thomas Creek Brewery (Greenville) – http://thomascreekbeer.com/

Yeast (Mount Pleasant) – http://yeasthomebrew.com/

From me to you, Have a Happy Christmas, a wonderful holiday season, and a Merry New Year! Cheers!

BROOK BRISTOW

New Image

Brook Bristow is a South Carolina-based lawyer at Bristow Beverage Law, who primarily counsels companies in the alcohol industry on business and employment laws, as well as on compliance, licensing, and intellectual property. He is the author and editor of the Beer of SC Blog. You may reach him directly at beerofsc@gmail.com

Advertisements

One response to “SOUTH CAROLINA BEER GIFT GUIDE FOR 2015

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s